This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Career Change

Tristan
edited January 2007 in architecture
Hi there
I have been looking around at achitecture and drafting ect and came across this site. I have a few questions to ask regarding architectural drafting. Firstly a little bit of background about me. I am a qualified cabinetmaker and have been in the industry for 7 years now. I have worked with architectural drawings building all sorts of things ranging from simple small kitchen cabinets to much more complex large scale building fronts, reception counters ect. The past year and a half I have been stuck programming a CNC machine and doing small designs and layouts for some clients. I have been working with Autocad since 1997 and have used pretty much each version that has come out since LT97. I currently have the 2007 version of Autocad here at work but I prefer using 2005. I haven't had much experience in drafting and architectural design but I have done a few different things here and there. I am pretty much sick and tired of my job at the moment. I only did it because I have a love for building and creating with my hands and now I am not building anything so much and I am doing something I never really wanted to in the first place. I have only done it to gain experience and get contacts with people in the industry. I have designed and built some furniture that came second in the Australian Furniture Industry Association Awards which i thought was pretty good for a first time. It also let me know I have the ability to be able to come up with some new different and innovative ideas. It doens't help though, when my employer takes pretty much full credit for it without giving me much credit at all. I am just basically wondering what is the best way to get into the architectural drafting industry. I am looking at doing a part time Tafe course for the next few years to gain more