This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Unis in Melbourne

C.B.
edited July 2006 in architecture
I'm currently a year 11 student studying in Melbourne. I'm considering architecture as a career choice (despite some discouraging comments here :lol: ). I'm wondering if anyone is able to give me any information about the university programs in and around Melbourne. I'm especially interested in knowing about Melbourne Uni, as they require Maths Methods, and I would likely be dropping it next year, and keeping this option open is the only reason I'd consider keeping it.

Thanks for your time.

Comments

• mjsmi
    edited January 1970
    seriously consider going to Deakin Uni at Geelong waterfront

they offer a double degree with construction management as well as the standard Bach arts (arch) then Bach Arch

great facilities
    opportunity to move out be independant
  • FBE Rocks
    edited January 1970
    RMIT is the best architectural instituition in australia in my opinion. Atleats their post grad is top notch.

RMIT also have links with numerous internationa big names through student exchange and joint studio.

Im going to UNSw in ydney and i think its comparable to RMIT. both unis are somewhat avantgarde in its approach to architecture. I have no complaints about my educations here.

others might not agree

addition: I would stay with the big 4 (Sydney, MELB, RMIT and UNSW). I dont know alot about the other universities but those 4 are the only ones that have SOME international connection and recongnition. in todays world that is important.
  • mjsmi
    edited January 1970
    RMIT is not all that it used to be
    in fact i have heard it has come close to losing its accreditation on several occasions. Some employers specifically don't look at RMIT due to lack of construction knowledge and pie in the sky atitude.