This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

the art of architecture

simon seasons
edited November 2007 in architecture
I am firstly an artist, but I had the misfortune to grow up in a house that was run by two engineers. Being an artist I was acutely aware of the odd rant coming from my parents about 'bloody architects' whose creative 'flights of fancy' had to go back to the drawing board because the engineering solutions outweighed the budget for every other aspect of the project.
Becoming a carpenter, chef, and joiner and now retraining as a building designer I have seen many things get built which I believe showed a complete lack of understanding of the ART by the architect. “It’s art man” has become a virtual pejorative for the aesthetic state where people are led to confuse what they think is their innermost thoughts as expressive of the soul. By that I mean that the universities seem to be training people to use there ego as a reference point. They give them this point, but they don't give them any spear to go behind it.

If that seems confusing, consider that ones inner most thoughts are not on the spoken level, but are played out in our dreams. If we continue to talk about what it is we feel like doing without reference to what is outside of our heads as if that is an innermost thought, then we are confusing a description of the self with what is essentially a reaction to what is not the self.
That is, our reaction to what is outside of us is what our dreams are made of and they can only ever be interpreted by the feeling that remains when we awake. The closest we can therefore get to our innermost thoughts is not by talking about ourselves, but by gauging our emotional reactions to what is outside of ourselves.